Abia Comets to open campaign against Ekiti United as NNL 2023/2024 season begins

by · Daily Post

Abia Comets Football Club of Umuahia will play their first match of the 2023/2024 Nigerian National League (NNL) on Saturday, November 19, against Ekiti United of Ado Ekiti.

The two teams are in Southern Conference Group A of the NNL.

The match, which will be played at Oluyemi Kayode Stadium in Ado Ekiti, will involve the Umuahia and Ado Ekiti-based football clubs.

Speaking to DAILY POST in Umuahia about his team’s preparation for the upcoming season, the media officer of Abia Comets, Emmanuel Chinedu, said that the Kevin Ejeh-coached team has put together all the necessary arrangements to shine in the first match and subsequent games.

Chinedu added that Abia Comets recently played friendly matches in readiness for the new NNL season, including a 3-0 entertaining victory at Umuahia Township Stadium against Right 2 Win Sports Club.

He appealed to fans of Abia Comets in Abia State to always support the team whenever they are playing at home in Umuahia.

Meanwhile, the Nigerian National Football League (NNL) Board has released the fixtures for games to be played in different parts of the country:

Match Day One (1), NNL, 2023/2024 season.

Conference C

Date: 11-11-2023.

Star Match (official opening fixture):

Nasarawa United vs. Zamfara United – Lafia City Stadium, 3 PM.


Yobe DS vs. Mighty Jets – Gashua Stadium.


Wikki Tourists vs. EFCC – ATB Stadium, Bauchi.

NAF vs. ABS – Area 10 Stadium, Abuja.

Conference D

Date: 18-11-2023.

Jigawa GS vs. Kebbi Utd – Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano.

Sporting Supreme vs. Adamawa Utd – Bwari Township Stadium, Abuja.


City FC vs. Malumfashi FC – Area 10 Stadium, Abuja.

Conference A


Dakkada vs. 1472 FC – Uyo Township Stadium (PP).

Smart City vs. Edel FC – MJ Arena, Lagos.

Vandrezzer vs. Coal City – Eket Township Stadium.


Rovers vs. Stormers SC, Abeokuta – UJ. Esuene Stadium, Calabar.

Ekiti Utd vs. Abia Comets – Oluyemi Kayode Stadium, Ekiti.

Beyond Limits vs. Madiba FC – Remo Stadium, Ikenne.

Conference B


Solution FC vs. Trade safe – Awka City Stadium, Anambra.

Osun Utd vs. Gateway Utd – Osun Township Stadium.

Ijebu Itd vs. Int’l Lagos – Dipo Dina Stadium, Ijebu-Ode.

Giant Brillars vs. Ikorodu City – Enugu Temporary Township Stadium.


Crown FC vs. FC ONE Rocket – Soun Township Stadium.